Welcome Forums New Here? Introduce Yourself! Hello from Chandlers Ford Hampshire

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      PaulM0PHB
      Participant

Hi all,
        My name is Paul M0PHB. I studied with EssexHam’s online tutorial for my Foundation Licence and as a result of their excellent course I passed the exam in May 2022. I spent a lot of time online looking at various YouTube videos etc and this year decided to attempt the Intermediate after studying with GM6DX ‘Gettin tae grips with the UK Intermediate Exam’ again a great resource for the necessary info. I took the exam in February 2023 and passed. The bug was well and truly implanted and I wanted to get my full licence, so I found an android app (UK Amateur Radio) which had lots of exam example questions to back up all three licence handbooks. I applied for my full exam and spent a week revising from any resource I could find, then sitting the exam in April 2023. I passed and and extremely chuffed I went from nil to Full in 11 months. I have to say it is down to EssexHam’s initial training that helped.

M0PWX
        Participant

Hi Paul

you took a similar path to me, i did the Essex ham course in September 2020, passed in October, intermediate with the GM6DX course and passed in November, then i used the Cornish Radio Amateur Club YouTube videos and the RSGB exam handbook and exam secrets books and passed full the last few days of February 2021

i can’t praise Pete M0PSX’s Essex Ham course enough

Billy GM6DX’s intermediate course is great as well

how did you find the full exam, as it is heavy on electronic theory, i was lucky as i have a background in electronic repair

Peter

M0PWX

PaulM0PHB
          Participant

Hi Peter,