Welcome Forums New Here? Introduce Yourself! Hello from Peter (M0PWX)

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      M0PWX
      Participant

As I suggested this “introduction” area to Pete, I suppose only fitting I post the first hello and introduce myself

I am Peter (M0PWX), I live on the Isle of Sheppey and you should be able to tell from the M0xxx that I hold a full license, I am on the younger side for the stereo typical Ham being only late 50’s 🙂

I am relatively new to Amateur radio, in that I only passed my foundation with Pete and Essex ham in October 2020, intermediate in November 2020 and full in February 2021, doing the exams that quick was a bit of a crazy roller coaster ride of learning and exams, but my background is computers and electronics so I had an advantage

You will VERY rarely hear me talk on the radio, as I am often multi-tasking so I tend to work digital mode only, or sat on the sofa connected to the PC controlling my radio using VNC to run FT8, SSTV etc keeping the wife happy by not leaving her on her own

My radio interests are many I love the challenge of QRP modes like WSPR and QRSS, and even though I have a Yaesu FT-991a capable of 100w output I rarely run more than 35-40 watts, the other thing you will see from me is posts about when the ISS is due to transmit SSTV, as that is another fun area of the hobby, the coolness of being able to recieve images for the ISS whizzing overhead at silly miles per hours, I work mainly HF 40m-6m and a bit of VHF but that’s more about satellites than anything else

My radios are Yaesu FT-991a, a Xiegu G90 (my first rig, great cheap little HF 20w all mode unit for beginners) and several QRPLabs U3s Beacon kits for WSPR, QRSS and other QRP modes